Experimental Dinner

So my sister bought salad bags buy one get one free at the store, and we also had a third one at home already. She told me to eat it up, but I haven’t been in any mood for salads for weeks. So tonight I wondered if it could be cooked. I looked it up and instantly started putting together what I could do with the few ingredients we had that would go with a bag of salad.
The bag already had some nice additions, such as carrot and purple cabbage. So I started cooking dinner by cooking the rice with some butter added to the water. When it was a little over halfway done, I minced some garlic, got out the onion powder and chopped up the salad a little more.
I heated some olive oil over medium heat and cooked the garlic until it was fragrant, stirred in the onion powder, and then tossed in the salad. Added just a dash of ginger (maybe unneeded) and mixed it in. The salad was wilted enough and finished cooking by the time the rice was done.
Got out my favorite bowl, scooped in the rice, topped with the cooked salad, and drizzled over that a mixture of maybe 1-2 tbsp soy sauce, honey to taste, and 1/4 tsp ginger. (The garlic knot I just snatched from last night’s leftovers cause I wanted bread > 3> )

15941929_1294182810603180_974576520_n

Not sure how appetizing it looks, but I must say it turned out to be rather delicious. A very simple meal for a lazy day and I will definitely be making it again. Next time I hope to add minced mushrooms to the mix.

Experimenting is fun šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

