Smoothie Diet

I’ve recently gone on a smoothie diet to help me lose weight! (Doing this along with exercise of course.) I’ve tried smoothies mainly with bananas and yogurts in them to go along with the berries and other healthy ingredients I purchased, until I could do more research about them and refine my diet. Since I started, I’ve actually gained around five pounds with all the sweet and fat I’ve added.
But I’ve always wanted to try using vegetables this way so I can get my greens without spending a ton of time cooking. So I researched and found green smoothies, looked up the ratios, etc. And I had an idea!

So I found a carrot cake recipe online, and decided to try dropping the banana and yogurt, added spinach (because, like I was assured by friends, you can’t even taste it), used cashews instead of walnuts, and half the amount of honey. The only negative thing about this smoothie is the color, it isn’t exactly pretty xD
Here’s the recipe:

Carrot Cake Green Smoothie

1 carrot
1 good handful of spinach
1 handful cashews
1-2 tbsp unsweetened natural shredded coconut
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp vanilla
1/2 tbsp honey
1/2 cup almond milk
1/2 cup ice

Excluding the ice, liquify all the ingredients in the blender on 5 for 30 seconds. Then add the ice and blend until the ice is how you prefer! So simple!

I had the first sip of this smoothie expecting a horrible reaction (i have issues with texture I’m trying to get over) And my eyes grew wide and immediately I got excited, “Oh my gosh…OH MY GOSH THIS IS SO GOOD” I was literally hopping around with happiness xD When food is really good, I tend to dance 😛
I hope to try something else that might be a little strange tomorrow. A celery and peanut butter smoothie! Wish me luck!

Happy dieting everyone!
-[MT]Viv

Leave a Reply

